This Is the Diary of A Girl

Papa Roach at the Phoenix

Thursday, Feb. 22, 2007 @ 04:29

Lucky me I had all afternoon to get ready for the show. I showered, dressed in a velvet outfit, and painted my nails red. I put on a spiky belt because the velvet shirt likes to role up. I was going to wear black lipstick but decided against it since I would have to keep re-applying it. My LL called his brother at around four wondering where he was. He was apparently at shopper�s. After my LL hung up he joked about the brother buying condoms (thank god he didn�t). The brother picked me up at 5. Traffic was pretty slow on the QEW and the Gardener express way.
Damn! Papa Roach was more than amazing! Kill Hannah and It dies today opened for them. Me and my LL�s brother arrived at the Phoenix at around 7:30 hoping my friends were already there. I felt my E buzz almost immediately. It hit me pretty hard. I kept my arms crossed trying to keep myself from fidgeting too much. My heart was racing when the first band came on stage. I was feeling very dehydrated so we went to the bar. I bought him a drink since he paid for parking. The drinks were ruddily expensive. I had two revs but this guy ran right into me when I was drinking my second one and nearly dumped half on me. Asshole! He should have bought me another drink. Oh how I love rev. It�s not a good idea to get drunk on E though. The second band came on and I wanted to go to the crowd area. They only served water in that area. I finished a bottle just before Papa Roach came on. I pushed my way to the front and started to go crazy! Luckily I found Emily (miedema2002). I didn�t expect to find her in such a crowded place. She said her other friend didn�t show up. I gave the brother one of my rings so that I could tell it was him from all the creeps around us. Papa Roach played my favourite song getting Away with Murder almost at the beginning. It sure got me warmed up. I screamed every chance I could get, threw my arms and hair around, and jumped like crazy. I had to put my hair up and role my sleeves down because it was hot as hell in the moshpit. The brother got me another bottle of water which was $2.75. I don�t see the need to charge so goddamn much for water when they are making a crap load of dough from the tickets. I stayed at the front for all of Papa Roach. I kept getting bumped by security guards pulling out crazy people trying to jump the fence. I debated crowd surfing but I was wearing a skirt. After a while I couldn�t feel my buzz because of the music. I bit my lip like mad. It�s funny how you don�t notice these things while you are doing it. On our way out I promised Emily we would get together for a party weekend in the t-dot. I also got to show off my tattoo.
On our way back I could barely talk. My voice was really raspy. The brother kept asking me about ecstasy. He didn�t notice anything odd about me. It is hard to stay away from people when you are taking it. That�s why I only do it around people I know. We stopped in Hamilton because I needed to stop at a Tim Horton�s.
I would love to see Papa Roach again someday. They are more than amazing and the singer is a great crowd up lifter. I had so much fun it�s unreal. I wish I had found a review in one of the newspapers. Unfortunately I missed the feature of Papa Roach on much music. They said they will be back next year. I am holding them to that although I�ll probably be in Ottawa. That was the best concert, doesn�t beat out Metallica but being my fifth one at 19 is pretty damn special.
I didn�t bother to go to school today. I was awake but didn�t feel like getting out of bed. I hate those days. It feels like you are trapped. Around 4ish I went down to the store to see the wife and my LL. The brother was there also oddly enough. The wife, her son, and her friend left at 4:30. My LL made me and his brother some hot chocolate and talked about the concert. The LL was so jealous. The brother couldn�t stop being sarcastic about having such a good time. It really wasn�t his style of music and I don�t think he liked the moshpit that much because he kept getting bumped and pushed. He really is a tough guy although it doesn�t show sometimes.
A bit after 5 we were getting ready to leave when all of a sudden we heard a huge crash out front. There was an accident. These drunken dudes in a van coming from the beer store just down the block hit this lady who was trying to turn. The whole driver�s side was caved in. The van was going very fast because she spun around and her trunk popped open. It doesn�t take much for Cavaliers to get smashed up. Also, these kids playing on the corner nearly got hit with flying debris. There was broken glass all over the road and cars just kept driving over it. No wonder their tires went flat. Idiots.
This accident was even worse than the one in Edmonton four years ago. The paramedics weren�t able to open her door so they pulled her out of the passenger door. The drunken dudes stayed in the corner store across the street. The cops were there talking to them. Oh how I hope they got charged to the maximum possible. They were clearly intoxicated. It�s always older people trying to drive while under the influence. It�s not respected among my age group.
After things were starting to clear up, I went back to my apartment and the brothers left. My mother called. She thinks I might be getting fat because I drink a lot of hot chocolate. I can�t help that it�s cold out. She should take a look at herself before she calls anyone fat anyways. She is waiting to get paid so she can send me some money. I didn�t tell her I owe my LL $60. He wanted to give me money for the concert and doesn�t want me to pay him back but I feel so guilty for taking it so I really need to give it back.
My LL came over later that evening and watched CSI Miami with me. We had a lot of fun. Then we went to Tim Horton�s because I wanted to get a chicken salad rap. The wife called on our way out of the drive through and the LL told her that he was sleeping in the shop and that�s why she couldn�t reach him. She probably smelled perfume on him when he came home or she is extremely dumb.
I wish I had told the brother about the affair when we were driving to the concert but he was to busy talking about cars and how dumb his ex-girlfriends were. He was the one who always paid for everything and blah blah blah. Maybe this weekend I can tell him because he wants to go to Philthy�s with me.
Hmm, I wonder what my next concert is going to be. I know on March 10 there are a few local bands playing in town and it will only be $8 cover charge to get in. I have a strange feeling that one of the band members of Worthless Without goes to school with me. Yikes, now people from school are going to try to get to know me. Great.
Jenna
*Song: Ayria � Cutting.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008