This Is the Diary of A Girl

OTTAWA, "Give me fuel give me fire give me that which I desire!"

Friday, Oct. 08, 2004 @ 22:35

Mike was going to go to the concert with me, but all of a sudden his parents wouldn�t let him go saying that it is too far of a distance for him to travel. That made him so mad. Also, Another friend of mine was going to go but he was dragged into some parenting course by his girl friend. My mother didn�t want that other ticket to go to waist, so she decided she wanted to go. You know what that means, I couldn�t go wild. Darn, only if Mike came.
Wow, Metallica is amazing. I don�t even know how to begin. The show was amazing. It�s surprising how much energy they have, even after 20 years. They haven�t played here since 1997. Somehow I don�t remember but I was only 10 then.
I missed the godsmack act. I am so curious as to what they performed and how they sound live. We forgot how far the Corel Center was. Once there I bought a metallica everything: key chain, hat, and tee shirt.
Metallica, all dressed in black, opened with Blackened, but I nearly missed most of it because we were running around to find our seats. We got to our seats when they were playing fuel. The crowd joined in for Unforgiven. Then we all yelled out "die, die, die" during Creeping Death, while Hetfield asked us if that was our best.
My favourite was when they played Nothing Else Matters. I just really love that song. Then they went on to play: Harvester of Sorrow, Justice For All, One, and The Prince. They were at their best during Welcome Home. The floor was crazy. They were carrying people over their heads, but if I were to mosh, for sure I�d be crushed to death.
They performed around the stage starting in front of us. During The Memory Remains,
Hetfield called out �Oh yeah?� And we answered back with �Yeah!� That went on for a while. They performed a number of solos as well. That group is so talented. Kirk Hammett, the guitarist, was awesome playing his doodle. The bassist, Rob Trujillo, also had a solo. Mind you I think he is so cute in his very long black hair. He spun around while drumming his base guitar playing some crazy tune called Junglessence. But I also think I heard a bit of Orion.
Not only us fanatics were chaotic but also the lights were crazy and made the stage look like fire. I was always creeped out when Hetfield cackled his evil laugh. When it went pitch black, everyone lit up their lighters. All of us were screaming and banging the seats wildly. I�m surprised I still have my voice. Luckily my mother had fun through this madness. After all, Hetfield said he didn�t want us to leave until our throats were sore and our ears ringing.
Hetfield introduced Frantic by asking the crowd if they brought their anger. "It doesn't matter, because you brought what you needed to bring, and this is the best and safest place to bring it out tonight, here with me."
The encore for Fight Fire With Fire featured a series of loud explosions and fireworks so massive I couldn't believe they were allowed inside. Yeah, I seriously thought I was going to go def. They shook everything, including the whole building. I jumped every time because you never knew when to expect it, and Hetfield screams, �Ottawa. Are you, are you alive?�
Then he handed over the songs Enter Sandman and Seek and Destroy for the crowd to sing most of. I would have love to hear Whisky In a Jar, Fade to Black, Turn the Page, and Die Die Die My Darling. Hetfield yelled, "Ottawa, you kick ass," then Lars agreed and said, �Ottawa, you guys kick maximum ass!� That was awesome.
They ended the show saying good night and started tossing guitar picks into the audience, and Lars sipped water from his mug and spat on the audience three times, then he gave away his mug. What a awesome performance. It was perfect all round.
Then Hetfield yelled, "I'm not the only one who thinks Metallica should come around here more than every fucking seven years," before all four put their arms around each other, bowed and ran off the stage.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008