This Is the Diary of A Girl

Touring where I live

Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004 @ 22:08

I added a slew of entries I wasn�t able to add before, and I made sure the dates were correct so it wouldn�t look like I wrote 5 in one day.

I just got back from the airport. My mother is expecting her niece�s daughter to visit. Unfortunately we couldn�t find her plane and the airline people are being dumb. It wasn�t all bad though. My mother ran into a lot of people she used to work with including this corporate lawyer, Mr. Dickson. He seemed to have this mysterious way with my mother and she could actually smile and laugh along with him. I am interested in becoming a lawyer but not his kind. I�d prefer something with far less paper work, maybe a criminal lawyer, if I live that long. That seems to distant in the future.

I had the most fun and exhausting day today. It took my mind off a lot of things. Since I didn�t have any homework or no need to talk with anyone on the net, I went out to tour Ottawa. Canadian flags are everywhere, getting ready for Canada day. Mum and I went downtown and ate at this little bar/restaurant and they had this huge television showing the Euro cup soccer. Germany and Latvia were playing.

Then the most spontaneous thing happened, we decided to go boating on the Rideau Canal. We found ourselves in the middle of many tourists. I heard people beside me talking in German and they were looking over this map of Ottawa. One of then sneezed and I said "gesundheit" and then we started talking. I had a good conversation with this really nice guy named Kris. I liked him straight away and now I am talking to him on MSN while he�s at the hotel.

I have never had a cruise or skated on the canal in my life. The boat was pretty large. I was sitting with the German tourists near the front where it had not roof and no protection from the wind and I became really cold. I went inside for about 15 minutes but I was so annoyed because there were only french tourists in there. So I left and went back up to where I was before.

The speaker guy named Alex, talking over a microphone to everyone on board, explained everything about the old buildings and a lot about Ottawa�s history. He had a really good sense of humour also. Eg. �We are selling bottles of water for $1.50 and there you can have your little piece of the canal. Just kidding, it�s not canal water.� and he also said while we were passing a school, �At lunch time, the kids like to line up along there and throw their lunch at us. It�s great cause we don�t have to pack a lunch.�
Something that really interested me about Ottawa�s history was that a very important person in the government (I�m not saying who) had died on the Titanic while getting furniture in England for the Shadow Laurier Hotel, and today he and the furniture are still at the bottom of the Atlantic ocean. That caused a long delay for the opening of the hotel.

I didn�t have to translate anything for Kris because his English is very good, but he still has quite an accent. When I was talking with them in German my mother kept asking me, �What are you guys talking about?� and �What did you say?� That was so annoying. If she wants to know so badly what I was saying, why doesn�t she learn German herself, then she will know everything.

Just before we had to get off, Kris gave me a little hug and said, �Hope to talk to you later.� I thought that was so sweet of him. What if I never went out at all today? I would have never met him. Amazing things happen.

Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008