This Is the Diary of A Girl

Settled Down

Monday, Jul. 02, 2007 @ 10:17

The birds around this apartment are very annoying. On Wednesday we didn�t move out before my LL�s arrived for work so I called him up to help us move. The wife came outside with her friend and she was being nosey, asking a lot of questions and I just ignored her. I knew that was going to happen. I felt like insulting her and telling her to go watch the store, but I just walked away and talked to the cheating husband. We were on the road by 9:30. The traffic was moving smoothly until we got passed Bellville, there was an accident but it was mostly cleared up. We made a little stop at the truck stop near Ajax. There was a 53 footer truck there. The driver told us he had 200 pigs. I told him we sure could smell it. I took Lestat outside because he was acting up. He went inside the prickly bushes but I don�t know if he did anything, but he was quiet the rest of the trip. We had breakfast at the truck stop, then when we went to pay, the cashier was being rude to everyone. I won�t be going there anymore. Just before we hit the 416 to Ottawa, we had a little stop at Tim Horton�s. It was hard to decide where to go because not all places have enough room for big trucks. We were driving a 16 footer.
Once we got to Ottawa, we met up with another friend who was helping to carry all the stuff into the apartment. It was almost 35 degrees out, very humid and I have no idea how they did it. I was exhausted from the trip and laid down on the couch. Once the cats were in, they just hid in closets. Ebony was very irritable. Once everything calmed down, my mother and I took cool showers. The cats were still panting like crazy so I soaked them with cold water in the shower. They were not happy about it, but they calmed down and realized why it was done to them.
My mother and I couldn�t sleep so we decided to bring the truck back to Brantford. We left Ottawa at Midnight. It took us forever to find a gas station in Ottawa with diesel. We made only one stop at Tim Horton�s. We hit Toronto at 5 but there was still no slow downs. Rain started to pour. All of a sudden a car in the next lane slid and hit the car in front of us, both cars slid out of the way into more traffic; luckily everyone including us hit their brakes in time. My mother thought her Kia wouldn�t have been able to brake in time. I think it would have. I don�t think anyone was seriously injured. It happened just before the 403. It would have been a lot worse if our truck was hit. I swear every time I travel to Brantford or to Ottawa, there�s always an accident. That was too close. It rained the rest of the way on the 403. Good thing it cleared all the bugs off the window. Once in Brantford we dropped the truck off and got in the Kia. We were glad to be out of a truck. We never realized how many roads in Ottawa can�t handle trucks.
My mom and I were really hungry so we went to the Golden Griddle. Ironic how it was the first place I went to when I first moved there and we made it our last. Mom had an omelette and I had the twisted chicken sandwich on a bagel. Their coffees were made very strong. We needed to get some rest. We checked my mailbox to see if my cheque had arrived. It hadn�t but the LL left a note to call him. I didn�t want to. We drove near a park and parked and rested. The sun bothered me and I put an umbrella in the window and a blanket over the other. It still got really hot. Finally we went to the store and talked to the wife. She was holding onto my cheque. I still didn�t say much to her. My mother loved her top. It was nice of the wife to tell the person she�ll call them back. She was only being nice because I was moving out. I noted she never said to keep in touch. Why do people like her have kids?
We left for Hamilton to go to my bank. The 403 was very busy by this time because they started construction since the rain has stopped. I guess the wife told her husband that I picked up the cheque so he called me. I pretended like I couldn�t hear him so I just said hello a number of times and hung up. Of course he called back and left a message. I couldn�t wait to change my number. Near Hamilton I called Thomas and he gave me directions to his house from the bank. He didn�t live too far. It was good to see him again. He gave my mother and me key chains from Cuba. He went there for a week. He smoked a lot there since cigarettes and cigars were very cheep. He bought a lighter which somehow exploded on him. He didn�t get to go scuba diving. Instead they went to race tracks and explored cities and restaurants. Everyone I know who has gone to Cuba has gone scuba diving. He said next time they go that they will do that. He swam in the Ocean and said it was like salty soup.
While Thomas and I were talking, my mother rested in the car. She fell asleep with the fog lights on. They were only on for like an hour. Thomas let his dog Max out to visit with me. My mother woke up and turned her fog lights off. She said she had enough rest so we said our good byes to Thomas and he plans on coming to Ottawa this summer. My mother and I went to Toronto to go to the Dixie mall. Good thing it was off the QEW. There was lots of parking available. There were lots of sales. Sales after sales after sales. Dixie mall is full of over stocked items that weren�t sold in other stores. I still couldn�t find any sandals I liked. I bought a perfume for $4.00. I really like the perfumes that were in Cuban cigar cases. I also got a Toronto key chain at the gift store. I didn�t have a lot of money because we needed it for gas so I didn�t bother getting a miniskirt that was on for $12.00. I love wearing mini skirts now. I don�t know why. I would love to go back to that mall again. Maybe I will before the Manson concert. We want to bring lots of people because of their sales.
We hit the highway but it took us a while to get to the 401. We tried collectors but it was closed for construction so we had to take the 427 airport to get there. By this time my mother and I didn�t have much rest for the passed two days. I don�t know how she drove that much without sleeping, 20 hours; we might as well have gone to Florida.
Once we got to the apartment, we didn�t crash right away. We were very over tired and just began organizing and unpacking. Finally I flopped on the couch.
Friday morning I woke up at around 10.The Rogers�s guy was to come at 11. My cousin dropped by to help so him and I went to my mother�s old apartment to pack some stuff. The Rogers guy put cables in each of the rooms and the living room. We have wireless Internet. I need to set up the security password so no one else will use our Internet.
Once most stuff were brought to the apartment we went out for lunch. My mother got tired of waiting so she left for Nepean to pay a bill. The waitress came out to ask us what we wanted after half an hour of waiting. My cousin had roast beef and I had a vegetarian sub. The bill was somehow $27. I saved a bit of my sub for mom. My cousin saw his girlfriend walking by with her kids so we joined up with them. The heat was getting to me so we went to the old apartment. I talked to one of the tenants who are going to Carleton University. He didn�t apply to Ottawa but he wants to go there for philosophy as well. He seemed very intelligent. He is also getting married in August.
When my mother came back, I paid my Rogers bill and got my number changed. Never again will I talk to my LL. I even blocked his email.
We decided that we wanted to go to the cottage. My cousin�s girlfriend didn�t bring her kids so it was the four of us. We gassed up and got KFC in Armprier. My cousin and I went to the liquor store. I got rev and he got a bottle of S. Ice. We wanted to make fish in the fire pit but it was raining and we couldn�t find firewood. At the cottage the rain finally subsided so we jumped in the lake. It was refreshing and not too cold. I tried surfing but the board was too wet and I kept falling off.
We headed back to Ottawa that night because my mother needed to work.
The last two days we didn�t leave the apartment. We got things organized and boxes out of the way. It would have been nice to spend Canada day on Parliament Hill.
I don�t like how small this apartment is. There�s no storage space, no coat closet, and no linen closet. We share a back yard with two other apartments that are no bigger than a bedroom. We are only paying $375 each hydro included so we can save up for a down payment on a house. Oh I can�t wait to get a house. I am sick of renting.
I am still busier than ever. I don�t need to take a summer course. I ended up getting the English credit but the university wants me to take an English test. I should have no problems passing it.
Yay, every morning I don�t have to watch BT but I still might watch City Line. They have the best tips.
Anyways, I am off to feed the three cats and finish cleaning.
Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008