This Is the Diary of A Girl

Just read on...

Friday, Dec. 27, 2002 @ 23:57

It seems all the celebrating is over. Life is back to normal again. Well, sort of... Finally realizing how nerdy and annoying some of my friends actually are. Two out of the three of them have a diary here so I should be careful.

Well anyway, yesterday I couldn�t go shopping for the angora sweater, or go out to get my nails done. My mother had no money at all. She was expecting a large check (from uh, I don�t know where) ever since last week. We didn�t have any money to do anything or even to rent movies. We just sat around doing nothing, and I could have been doing my homework. It could have been finished right now, but no money, no energy. I�ve felt this way for so long, too long... I could have been doing more productive things than being in front of the computer and or TV, gnawing at my nails.

Close relatives have been phoning us, asking us if we wanted to go visit them for New Years Eve and if we had enough money... Most of our relatives live a three hours flight away from here in Ottawa. But flights alone within Canada are way too expensive, and mum didn�t accept those invitations.
My mother refused every offer as nicely as she could, just trying to show them how �well off and independent� she was. But that kind of attitude went nowhere for us.
Finally she got sick of not for filling her habit (smoking,) and accepted 500 dollars from her ex-boyfriend.
I hope he knows how thankful we are, I can�t really tell it from my mother though.

During the money transfers, my mother was making lots of phone calls and even made the company fax something three times! It isn�t like her to act so desperate over 500 dollars. For my mother�s bus fair, we even had to dig out dimes to make up $2.50.
Yepp, that�s how much buses cost now. I remember when I was younger taking the bus, under 12 years old, it was free and adults were about one dollar. Some buses in Ottawa are now up to three dollars now; I think the prices are getting ridiculous just for a bus ride. I know only about less than two hours away from here (by car), in Montreal, a subway ticket costs two dollars, so why should buses in Ottawa cost more than that? Surprisingly, taxies aren�t around 50 dollars here. I can�t wait to move away from here. We�re leaving in the summer hopefully.

Once the money came through, my mother and I instantly went shopping for the sweater. I didn�t bother to get my nails done yet, my long, beautiful hair I think is more important. I at least got food in my stomach (luckily for the cats too) and one outfit. I absolutely hate it! And it wasn�t until I got home. That really sucked! Ok, I got a black angora sweater, but the neck! I don�t know, it must have been the way it�s sown. It�s like an attached scarf, I thought it had openings on each side, but it only had one on the left. Ugh. It was so uncomfortable. I hate sweater necks (and sleeves) you have to fold. I think it�s unnecessarily inconvenient. Then there was the pants with the oh so great black material. I didn�t realize the waste did not measure a size two, by the height?!?! How strange. No, they were just to low! I�ve made up my mind, I only like those thin, black jeans pants from Tabby. Nothing else! I know those clothes are for old people, though. But, they�re way better than what I bought...

My mother better get that check soon. Her employer told her to expect it this week, but nothing yet. There�s no good reason for us being in this financial trouble, it wasn�t expected at all, very unusual. Terrible! We could at least get more money by returning the mp3 player (doesn�t work very well with our computer,) and also returning the clothes I was unfortunate to buy.
She also said that I was going to receive a late, very BIG Christmas present that is quite �expensive� when she gets the check. Whoo hoo! Lucky me, I still have more on the way. Hmmm, New Years presents...

Much �thank you� to my mother�s boyfriend cause it wouldn�t have been good if we had no money for the weekend...
The one thing is, in the previous entry, I might have sounded like I got a lot and was satisfied but, really not. That was only like a quarter of what I get usually. And this year I couldn�t enjoy the most simplest things: Baby Ruth, Marzipan (German chocolate), and eggnog.

How I wish things could have turned out better for us. Mum�s ex boyfriend wanted us to go visit him for New years. He can be a really nice gentleman but my mother didn�t get along very well with his family. That prevented us from going to see him. I hope we don�t regret staying home this year.

Will write soon.
Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008