This Is the Diary of A Girl

There is no place like home

Sunday, May. 22, 2005 @ 12:21

It feels good to be back in a nice, warm house again. The hiking trip was wet and cold. The first day we went to Milton to go rock climbing at Raddle Snake Point. It was fun; none of us gave up on any of our climbs. I felt like a monkey, but climbing up on rocks. I ended up with a few cuts on my hands, and curse the people who didn�t get any cuts on them.
Then we went to our first camp site, then another, and another. We hiked constantly, but I guess that�s the point eh? The last camp site was really far. We went up what felt like mountains, down steep hills that felt like cliffs, through the rain, and over huge crevices. One of the crevices was over 50 feet down and three feet across. I panicked because I had this 45 pound pack on my back, so one of the leaders pulled me very hard, literally threw me in the trees.
My favourite part of the trip was exploring caves. They are really quite fascinating, no matter how small (and cold) they are.
The last day of the trip, my boyfriend and I, out of pure stupidity, drank water straight from the Georgian Bay. We were coaxed by the leaders since we were just about to leave anyway. Now I am paying for that mistake. I actually have the flu, again! It didn�t help when I was jabbed in the arm with a virus infested needle for mananjitus. For some reason I didn�t think they can give needles when the jabbed person is sick. My arm is still in a lot of pain but my coach wanted me to swim anyway. Once he saw that I wasn�t keeping up, he said he didn�t want my arm to be �hurt.�
My next trip is the spring canoe trip, and hopefully it won�t be as rainy and cold as the hiking trip.
Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008