This Is the Diary of A Girl

My Fourth Evanescence Concert!

Tuesday, Jan. 09, 2007 @ 22:37

I left for Toronto right after school. The weather was bad so we thought the highways would be bad. They weren�t. We got to Toronto four hours before the concert so we went to the mall for a bit, then we decided to wait in line so we get into the front. We waited outside for two hours. It was chilly but not bad; wasn�t snowing or raining at all. I got annoyed by all the preppy girls really fast though. 101.1 the Edge was handing out condoms for free. At least they were being thoughtful. They came around again and offered to take our pictures for the website. I refused so I wouldn�t lose my place in line.
After getting our bags searched and getting the plastic wrist bands, I stood eight feet from the stage. I�ll remind you this is floor level. Mosh town.
I don�t know who the first band was, but during Stone Sour I was pushed to the front. Pushers don�t realize that they actually push other people to the front, not themselves. Once there I didn�t let go of the rail. I was as far front as one can get. Stone sour was awesome. I stayed in the front for Evanescence. The guitar player gave the security gard a personally signed guitar pick to give to me. I found another one on the floor but it was a plain one, probably from the other bands. The guard also attempted to stop people from taking her picture but I got two of Amy Lee with my cell phone. I emailed them to me but they wouldn�t show up too good with this design.
People kept throwing water bottles so we got splashed. It was kind of refreshing so I didn�t mind. It was really warm being squished by hundreds of people.
Claudia is the biggest Amy Lee fan I know. I thought she was going to collapse from headbanging so much. Her brother kept hitting on me. Everyone as usual commented on how much I look like Amy. Evanescence played a good mixture of both albums and began the show with Sweet Sacrifice, Weight Of The World, and Going Under.
During Your Star, we yelled �We Love you Amy Lee� and she said �I love you too.� I had an awesome time.
I wanted to meet the band after the show but I didn�t feel like waiting outside forever again. It would have been worth it but by then I was starving for food.
At the end of the show I bought a $70 Evanescence corset. I have not enough money for two whole weeks. Well, we all know who will help out then. I�ll see what I can get for moddling the corset then.
I waited to post this after I watched the Hour and Evanescence on Much. She got engaged after the concert last night. I don�t know who but I�m guessing someone from Stone Sour. I found out that her new guitar player Terry suffered from a stroke. She also sued her former manager for sexual harassement and using her creditcard.
The Toronto Sun rated her concert as being 3.5 out of 5. This is some what they had to say:
�Evanescence made their second appearance in just four months in Toronto last night. And judging from the thousands of screaming fans at the Air Canada Centre, the moody metal outfit with the cute, goth- chick lead singer in the formidable form of sexy-looking and awesome-sounding frontwoman Amy Lee, didn't return too soon.
The show at the Hangar followed Evanescence's much smaller gig at Kool Haus last October, which effectively kicked off the Little Rock, Ark., group's latest world tour in support of their sophomore effort, The Open Door, which debuted at No. 1 on the charts.
And, as always, the focal point was the soaring songbird that is Lee, whose pale skin was offset by a head-to-toe black ensemble, including an eye-catching crinoline skirt, and her long black hair, which she whipped around to the group's heavy, melodramatic sound.
While in good voice, she mostly maintained her spot on a tiny catwalk at the front of the stage, backed by guitarists Terry Balsamo (who suffered a stroke last year) and John LeCompt, bassist Tim McCord, and drummer Rocky Gray.
Thankfully, Lee changed things up a bit when she sat down to play a black baby grand piano at the front of the stage while snowflakes fell around her for two songs, including the set stand out Good Enough, from The Open Door.
It was hard, however, to get past the overall muted quality to the proceedings when Lee's soaring vocals should have produced a genuinely exciting night of music.
Whenever she performed the slightest twirl or punched the air with one fist, the audience roared its approval.
Lee just needs to come into her own as a performer. The built-in fan base is already there, eagerly waiting for her to arrive.
Stage posturing aside, it was Evanescence's radio and video mainstays that produced the most reaction -- Call Me When You're Sober from The Open Door and Fallen's uber-hits Bring Me To Life and My Immortal -- this third one featuring Lee initially alone at the piano during the encore and joined by the crowd on the chorus.�
Pretty much sums everything up, although I would have rated her higher.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008