This Is the Diary of A Girl

Excuse my anger but it's worthy of hate

Tuesday, Jul. 27, 2004 @ 19:35

I still have quite a bit of battery left on my laptop. How was the trip? Well, It could have turned out better. I had to force my mother to go home. I convinced her that she needs to keep a close watch on the phone for our new car, if we ever get it. I asked her how long we were going to stay in Montreal and she said only one day because she had to do this and this and this... If you read on, then you will know why we didn�t really want to leave. Well, just her.

We went to Montreal to meet up with my friend�s aunt and uncle. They are really nice (in first impression,) and they have a very pretty daughter. Her name is Chantal, she�s tall, skinny, blonde, and speaks French and English perfectly, but she would not be at the chalet with us because she would rather be with her boyfriend. I don�t blame her.

I wasn�t talking much. I felt invisible at times because Acacia was always the center of attention. Even Chantal�s father would ask my mother questions about me when I was right next to her. It may be rude to ask someone their age but it�s even worse to ask someone else when you are right there.

On this trip there was only one guy and five girls. Every time us girls were together my mother said, �Hi my favourite girls!� I only said back, �Every girl is your favourite, huh?� Then she threatened to take me back and I only agreed. Once she had her coffee, she forgot all about that, as usual.

We didn�t stay in Montreal long. We headed north to the Laurentians where it is absolutely beautiful, the countryside filled with mountains and many trees.

We wish we could stay there forever. I wish I could meet a French guy so that I wouldn�t feel so nonexistent. I know it�s not going to happen. I will just keep dreaming.

We arrived at the chalet late Sunday night. They tried to keep me awake so I could drink with them. I knew what they were after, they wanted me to talk. They are all over thirty and I don�t have the experiences they do and drinking with them would be a waist of my time. Approximately hearing an hour or two of their blabbering, I finally got to sleep, only to wake up late the next day.

I was so bored right from the start. As soon as I finished my morning coffee ritual, Acacia ran right into my stomach. I have no fat so it hurt like hell, and there appeared my coffee again. I get sick too easy, but roller coasters are fine strangely. Luckily, Acacia avoided me after that.

Lunch was all right; I had grilled cheese and Pepsi while the rest were having hamburgers. I found it odd they didn�t want me to sit with them, because I�m vegetarian? How prejudice! I really kept my distance after that, and my mother only made it worse. I could hear her bragging about me, then insulting me the next minute. �Oh, she�s a great athlete, and a hard worker,� and then saying something about me being miserable all the time, and blah blah blah...

Later in the after noon we went to the lake to go for a boat ride. It was awesome. Chantal�s father and I were the only ones who didn�t wear a life jacket. Whoops, in Ontario you have to wear one but I don�t know about Quebec. Ah well. We couldn�t go too fast because of the kid.

Then we stayed on the beach and ate little snacks. I would only run around throwing the stick in the water for the dog. Oh sorry, I didn�t introduce the dog. He�s a little mutt named Max. He�s smaller than my cat. Max is a really good swimmer. He would happily catch sticks in the water, then he would go back to shore and attempt to Barry the stick in the sand. It was funny because he would always grunt and bark for someone to throw the stick in the water. The adults would have their afternoon diet beer. They were really trying to get my mother to drink so she couldn�t drive.

Damn I wanted to go swimming so I could disappear from them all, but I forgot my swim cap. Chantal�s father isn�t a good swimmer but he wanted to race me by using his little water toy. It�s kind of like a torpedo, it has two handles and it propels or uh, drags through the water. I so badly wanted to prove I could defeat him using that machine.

I was stuck on shore with everyone though. I dislike kids. Acacia would scream, cry, beg, stomp, yell, and everything. I was more annoyed than ever. I couldn�t wait to have a break from her. From everyone. I was trying to avoid getting mad at anyone by keeping my distance but still doing what they asked when they needed. People are very strange, no wonder I am so anti-social. I guess you can say I was being pushed around. I was just sitting on the deck while my mother and my friend were in the hot pool. Then along comes Chantal�s mother literally trying to drag me in there. I screamed no.
Her, �Oh, I thought you wanted to go in there.�
Me, �Your putting words in my mouth, if I wanted to be in there, I already would have been.�
Besides I knew if I had gone in, they would all go do something else. I don�t like warm water anyway, or chlorine for that matter. I still have a chlorine burn on my leg from a year ago. My coach was the only one who could convince me to get used to it.

Dinner came and I was separated once again. I felt like dying. Later on I decided to speak up about how they were treating me, only because I looked different, ate different, and wouldn�t drink with them. They didn�t expect it. They did the most innocent thing possible by acting surprised. Offering me things wasn�t going to help and I replied, �I�m not here to take anything. Cut the act, I know purposely you guys are prejudice against me.�
All of them have darker skin than me accept Chantal�s father. Oddly enough, he was the only one nice to me. Most of the time we talked to each other . I still couldn�t stand it because they all had their little groups: my friend with her daughter, my mother and Chantal�s mother, and Chantal�s father and Max. I guess it�s true a dog is a man�s best friend. I was left to myself. Don�t get me wrong, that is comforting, but this was rather a big group considering we didn�t know them very well, and to separate someone was humiliating.

I got my mother mad and she eventually got fed up and said that we are leaving. Then I told her how she lied about only staying for one day, but then half way through the trip, decides she wants to stay longer. I would have stayed if I had more clothes. I have to wear a clean outfit everyday and my mother knows that as well. I expected her to be at my throat all the way home but she was being nice. She was probably not angry with me because I do not take shit from anyone.

It was a five-hour drive home. Well worth it though. My cat missed me so much she was practically jumping on me. I got a good rest. I don�t think I will ever go back there but Chantal�s father wants me to return. My mother needs to go there on the 3rd to pick up my friend. Oh damn! I forgot my dog collar. Hopefully, my friend will bring it with her, if they don�t give it to Max. Anyway, if that family were super nice, they would drive my friend to Montreal to where they live and my mother would not drive as far and save gas, but that�s wishful thinking.

Well, I�m gone to go meet a French guy. Hah! I wish. Maybe I�ll just dig up the razor blades.
Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008