This Is the Diary of A Girl

Concert Night in Brantford!

Sunday, Mar. 11, 2007 @ 06:25

My only reason to stay here in town for the March break was to see four bands live at the Bottoms up (what a name for a bar). The bands were: Excellence Perfected, Corporation, Hold up Your End, and The Mahones. The first three were punk bands, basically fast drumming, loud guitars, and yelling instead of singing. The Mahones were awesome but I�ll get to that in a bit. Excellence Perfected played a song called Chicks with Dicks. I wasn�t too fond of that one.
Corporation, the second band, had a damn hot drummer that I would do in a heartbeat and he played with his shirt off. HOT! Anyway they have a tradition where they bring a three feet long stuffed banana every time they come here to the B-dot. They played a cover song called I Don�t Want to Hear it and I think it�s by the Suicide Machines. The singer talked about playing pool while the first band was playing. The guitarist lost to the drummer, so the guitarist had to kiss the drummers ass on stage and he did. That was a candid moment right there. The band then threw the banana into the audience and we went crazy throwing it around and if you fell you got stepped on. Cassie, a girl I go to school with, kept falling. Poor girl. Tables were tipped over and everything. O it was a slaughter fest. The band called for the banana back and preceded to place a plastic bag over its head, then the guitarist (who looked a lot like Thomas, just shorter) persistently stabbed at it and poured all the stuffing on to the stage and threw it at us. We threw it back. It was a mess, but after the band got off the stage the staff dragged out the old vacuum.
The third band, Hold up Your End really wasn�t that good. All they talked about was being pissed off about the war in Iraq. Things started to calm down in the crowd. My neighbour who lives with her boyfriend was around for the bands as well. She was with a few girlfriends so I didn�t get to talk to her much. This dude, who calls himself skiddog, clearly intoxicated, talk to me a little bit, but ran around like crazy, he even went on stage to try and talk into the microphone. He thinks he looks like Curt Cobain but he looks more like Keith Urban. Yuck.
I only had three and a half Orange Bacardi Breezers. I didn�t get a chance to drink as much as I wanted since I was busy chasing a banana around and throwing stuffing. But hey, that was better than drinking. I wish I could understand why they have such small washrooms in bars. It�s exactly like the one at the club in Toronto where there�s only two stalls and always such a damn long line. I hate that. Plus they always run out of paper towels. That�s even worse when you gotta wipe your hands on your skirt.
The Mahones were amazing. They talked about going to Amsterdam in a few days to represent Canada in an international music festival. My question is, what were they doing here? It�s extremely rare for our town to have international stars play here. Like, Toronto is only an hour away and the Cops Coliseum is only half an hour away. The Mahones weren�t punk. They were kind of Indy sounding. There were three guitarists (one of whom was female) but one of the guitars was slightly smaller than the rest, a drummer and another dude who played flute or accordion depending on the song. I left earlier than the rest because I was getting tired. The door lady told me I should come back for the wet tea-shirt contest. Okay, why was she saying this to a girl, quite frankly me? Maybe I should stop being so suspicious of others.
I didn�t know I could have such a good time here. This definitely beats the time when I won a free shot at Philthy�s.
Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008