This Is the Diary of A Girl

The Changing Culture

Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2006 @ 23:29

Okay, I edited this a little bit because I posted it on the Gothic Match website. I was just mainly curious what others thought but it doesn�t seem to effect them much. I took my profile down because it was just a waste of time being a member. It has become a shark pit like some say. Anyways, I wrote about the Dawson College tragity.
I don�t think I can live like this anymore. I don�t want to be judged based on other people�s actions, and I don�t want to feel like a moving target. What happened in Montreal was a tragedy. Events like these keep reoccurring. I truly feel for the victims who lost their lives, and the families for their pain.
The media likes to associate crimes with gothic culture because it makes a better story. People go on to believe the media and there begins a backlash on gothic lifestyle. This type of negativity that they see needs to stop. We need to show that we really are caring, responsible, non-violent people. In fact, I believe we are more mature and responsible than other scenes, in that we value intelligence, part of goth culture is thinking for yourself and being more aware of the world, rather than just following the mainstream trends. If society wasn�t so besmirched and close minded, if the media didn�t have to exaggerate things, maybe this message would get through. Instead of making the people in the goth culture look like insane misanthropic freaks.
Lately, I feel that because of being goth, people see me as being supportive of Kimveer Gill and what he did, and that petrifies me. People see us differently now and I am curious to see how these tragedies affect you as a goth.
I just got responses saying that he wasn�t goth, yet he clearly was. I won�t deal with such denial like that. Just makes us look even worse.
I discovered Kimveer�s blog on VF and it�s freeky to see how many others write like him. All I have to say is not all demons dress in black.
Jenna
*Song: The cruxshadows � Return coming home.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008