This Is the Diary of A Girl

Back from Calgary

Friday, Sept. 02, 2005 @ 09:53

How ironic. Going to Calgary was awesome because I flew over every city where I had a swim meet this summer, exactly in order: Toronto, Winnipeg, and Regina. It�s also my third time traveling to this time zone 2 hours behind Ontario. I didn�t know what to expect coming into this training camp.

The first day was absolutely freezing, but that didn�t last. Sure scared a lot of us though who brought summer clothing.

We had swim practice twice practically everyday, and we had a few sessions at the interesting place called the University of Calgary. Little sessions involving a sports psychologist, physiologist, nutritionist, therapist, goal setting and athletic assessments. Quite fun. There were many topics covered that I don�t know if I will be able to carry out the whole athletic lifestyle they want to put us through for the next three years. Personally, I liked the nutritionist because she knew exactly what she was talking about instead of regurgitating information out of a text book. I know exactly what to do in order to create a balanced meal now. I learned so much I don�t even know where to begin. I could talk for hours about this trip.

Alberta is a great province but Calgary isn�t the best city. I wouldn�t want to live there. Calgary is like a wannabee Toronto with the mini CN Tower, a science center, water tastes like rusty pipes although that could have been only the hotel, many Chinese people, and those street car like things. We were only there for a week and three stabbings took place, and I heard sirens at least three times per day. Crazy place.

We were told by the head spokesman to stay dry all week, but one night after swim practice, three of us went to a fancy bar. Lucky for me the legal age was 18, so I treated myself to a $7.25 glass of some strange martini that had coconut rum in it.

Sunday was the best day of all. We took a little trip to Banff. On the way we stopped at an awesome ice cream place and I couldn�t resist the temptation to have a double scoop of ice cream. One scoop was coconut delight and the other was Pena colada. Damn, nothing like it.

After that we all met up at the Banff hotel. It clicked that some movie by Steven King took place there. It totally reminded me of that haunted hotel. The Shining!

After taking a slew of pictures, we headed for the mountains. A quarter, or less, of the national team stayed behind in the famous hot springs. If I only had the time, I would have hiked down the mountain instead of getting back on the gondola. My dream though is to one day go rafting down the river.

Time up there was priceless. Call me a loser but the air was a lot thinner than I�m used to so climbing the steps was so exhausting. The mountain was so high, our heads were literally in the clouds. That was the best time ever! I love the Rockies.

Before leaving Banff, we did a little shopping, and I picked up the usual, mug for my mother and key chain for me. I wish we could have spent longer there. Driving there and back seemed to have taken up the most time.

A fewer harder practices finished up the week. They did lactate testing where they prick your finger for blood. I refused because I didn�t feel like swimming with open cuts in blood and urine infested dirty water. You�re just asking to be sick if you do that.

Now to the weirdest thing of all. Pierre Laughfountain (purposely spelling his last name wrong) made a few speeches to us athletes and to the coaches. He is very hopeful about the next few years which is great to see. He annoyed me though. He�s also a very loud individual. On the pool deck he kept on bugging me in the oddest ways, and the last day before he left, he finished his speech and walked behind me, squeezing me. He didn�t do these things to anyone else! Ugh, why me?! So, the weird thing is, he met my mother years ago for totally different reasons! She works for the government; I am a swimmer. He didn�t know I was her daughter and he probably doesn�t remember her at all. Still weird how he met us both though.

I was finally relieved the last day arrived when it did, accept I got my internet bill. I could have posted while I was there but I got too busy. The bill wasn�t that bad and I shouldn�t complain since I�ve had free internet for the passed two years in hotels.

I slept most of the flight from Calgary to Toronto. Talking to people while traveling was strange because once they found out why I was in Calgary I got the usual questions about swimming and stuff. �What team are you on?� I could hardly stammer out that I am on the national team. It�s still too unbelievable for me to believe myself. I could do another ramble about how I didn�t expect to get this far but I won�t. It was a worth while trip though.

Jenna

PS: Don�t worry, I remembered the Calgary key chain too.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008