This Is the Diary of A Girl

Nationals in Winnipeg.

Monday, Jul. 25, 2005 @ 17:45

The flight from Ottawa to Winnipeg was dreadfully long, and I even slept through most of it because the night before I stayed up. The flight was horrible, although I do like West Jet. Flight attendants are so flirty and the girls are really annoying. They remind me of those girls who run through the malls screeming at the top of their lungs. They just never shut up, and they always woke me up from my nap.
We are staying at an all-suite hotel. It�s great, they have everything here. I get a room to myself and two other girls, who aren�t swimmers, decided to give me the bed, while they have the pull-out bed, and cott. I have my own television and free Internet.
These hotels have kitchens which helps out a lot. I spent roughly $30 for groceries, which is a lot better than spending $200 eating out all the time. I also remembered to get a Winnipeg key chain.
Thursday; First day of the meet:
I only had one event, 100-meter freestyle that I didn�t make finals for, which means I didn�t make the top eight. Thomas made finals for that event which made me jealous, but at the same time didn�t because I knew I couldn�t have medaled anyway.
Friday:
I also didn�t make finals for 100-meter backstroke and 400-meter freestyle, which was the longest swim of my life. I couldn�t find the website with the results so I don�t know exactly what I placed for anything.
Saturday:
I only had 100-meter butterfly and I got disqualified at finals. I suck.
Sunday; The last day:
I had 50-meter freestyle and 200 IM, and once again didn�t make finals.
Thomas and I beat our times for the 50-meter freestyle so the coach bought our meals at the keg that night.
This meet was very competitive. More competitive then the Nationals in Endomton 2 years ago. I also could have done way better, but my mind wasn�t fully on the meet. When I was talking to people I felt like I didn�t belong there. Instead, I had to worry about other people and that put more pressure on me. It�s no one�s fault at all. I distracted myself by going on MSN and trying to keep in touch and all that. I was in Winnipeg for one reason ONLY, and I didn�t fulfill that purpose with my full potential.
There�s no regrets at all though. On the last day, this guy came up to me and talked to me about future swimming, and gave me the best news. I got carded! Now I can finally believe that one day I will be at the top. I will go for it! I will race around the world!

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008