This Is the Diary of A Girl

My Speech I had to memorize and present for one of my courses

Saturday, Jan. 21, 2006 @ 17:28

Life of a Travelling Athlete
I began swimming competitively four years ago. Within the first year, I swam at meets such as CWASSA, OFSAA, and qualified for Canadian Nationals in Edmonton Alberta. We got to Edmonton a couple of days before the meet so we went to the West Edmonton mall and the Klondike Carnival. During the meet, I didn�t medal but I managed to make finals every night.
Since them I�ve been to three provincials: in Toronto, Ottawa, and Brantford. In total, I won 11 medals and 2 trophies.
Last summer I went to another Canadian Nationals in Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada games in Regina Saskatchewan, and a training camp in Calgary Alberta.
Nationals in Winnipeg were even more competitive than the nationals in Edmonton. I only made finals once for 100-meter butterfly and got disqualified for a stroke in fracture. Despite that, the head coach of Canada pulled me aside and told me I got carded, which means, I swam above the international standard time, my post-secondary tuition will be paid for, and I have a little extra money.
Canada games in Regina were a fun yet serious meet. Those of us representing Ontario were a close, strong team. I remember we got along well and motivated each other. I swam as fast as I could for a bronze medal in the 100-meter freestyle, and gold in 100-meter butterfly. Ontario scored the highest points overall, beating out the rest of the provinces in the competition.
In Calgary, some of the best athletes in Canada met up with a nutritionist, sports psychologist, physiologist, and we attended many other sessions to help us learn about becoming better athletes and staying healthy physically and emotionally.
Just recently, I got back from a swim meet in Minneapolis Minnesota with team Canada to represent our country.
Because of all my successes so far, I have received much support and congratulation letters from MP�s and ministers in Ontario. I was also interviewed by a reporter from up Here magazine. That was pretty cool.
I have only been swimming for four years now and I have travelled across Canada and to the United States. I won a lot of trophies and medals, received letters and support from many. Currently I am training very hard so hopefully in the future I can represent Canada at even bigger and better swim meets.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008