This Is the Diary of A Girl

So Tragedy Almost Strikes

Saturday, Dec. 13, 2003 @ 02:44

The longest, busiest day of my life so far. Of course I got up for 5_30 swim. But for the rest of the day my adrenaline was so high. A bubble just waiting to burst. I couldn�t wait for seven P.M. for the Evanescence concert in Montreal.

As soon as I got home, mum, cousin Elvis and I packed up food and headed straight for Montreal. My mum was telling me she got the car fixed for $1300 so now everything runs perfectly. The whole way there, we were listening to the radio, my cousin and I were pigging out on chips and pop, and cracking jokes, the usual.

All of a sudden our car went flying.
Then in to a slow stop.
Silence...

Not a terrible silence, we were only pulled over for speeding. Speeding only 20 kilometers over the speed limit.
Officer: �do you have your drivers license?�
She spoke with a heavy French accident. At this time, we were just minutes from Montreal. Mum had to explain to the officer that she sent her driver�s license with the applications for a renewed passport.
Officer: �Then, can I see your registration for the vehicle?�
She took the papers and went back to her car and came back telling us we needed $130 for the speeding ticket. Then she left again. We were sitting for a long-time and she finally came again after stopping another car for speeding.
Officer: �I�m sorry but I was contacted by police in Gatineau. They say they were trying to fine you. And now you have to pay $477.�

We all knew it. There wasn�t going to be enough money. We searched everywhere anyway. This time the officer went away again while we were digging through everything to come up with $477. My cousin made the point that she kept us there so that another officer can show up. The police need more than one officer to make an arrest. Yes that�s right, arrest. Only because we didn�t have enough money. I was scared, time was passing by so fast. I couldn�t stop thinking, �Will we be to late?� � �Will we make it on time?� Other police showed up. We gave the officer all the money we had but still it wasn�t enough. We only needed 20 more dollars. I had nothing, my cousin had nothing, and mum had nothing.
Officer: �What is your bank?� Mum told her and she told us to follow her. We were led off the highway, in to this little township. �Where the hell are we going,� mum asked out aloud often. The town seemed almost deserted. But then we came to a bank.

By now it was almost 6 P.M. And Elvis and I were getting mad and desperate for money. Apparently this whole money issue started 20 years ago. The police were just waiting for mum to make another mistake in Quebec and she would have to pay for it all. It had to be this Goth-damn day the file had to be opened and thrown at our faces. My cousin and mum were scared. Mum might have to be arrested.
Mum: �Am I going to be arrested?�
Officer: �Over 20 dollars?�
Mum checked her bank and she was already over her withdraw limit. So we still had nothing.

I desperately needed the lady�s room and mum pointed out the mall. My cousin came with me but to find a pay-phone to call him mum to send $20.
Elvis: �I don�t want to see my auntie go to jail!�
I felt my face turning warm, and my eyes water up.

18:20 and still no money. I was sure the concert I was waiting for, for two whole months, was gone. There was going to be no money to get anything. Being constraint by money was the worst feeling in the world. My eyes kept blinking. I was so confused. Why today? I prayed while mum was frantically looking around and my cousin having a cigarette. Mum kept saying, where may $20 be. She gave up for a bit and said, �well, if she arrests me, then I swear, I will kill myself. I will hang myself in jail.�

Then mum went back to negotiate with the officer for a while again.

I heard the officer laugh. It reminded me of the sound of an owl. Still another long 5 minutes went by. The officer drove off and mum came back.
Mum: �Jenna, the nightmare is over. I have all the money back!�
Me: �What?� I couldn�t believe it. We were back to the way we started. At least money wise. Mum explained that the officer called the other police again, and they decided they will mail her the bill instead. After all that fucking time!

When I held the money again, I cried. Just tears trickling down my face. Good thing mum and Elvis didn�t notice.

18:40, we were back on our way to Montreal. Only 20 more minutes. This time, there was no stopping. We had to get there. And we did. Before cousin and I left the car though, mum kept debating where to meet us. After a minute (of my precious waiting time) she finally decided she will wait for us.

Finally, after that extremely long road trip, we made it. Amazing... My first time ever going to the Bell Center and there was a good crowd there too.

Seether played awesome, and sang a song from Nirvana also. That band really interacted with us and even featured Amy Lee, lead for Evanescence.
Finger 11, didn�t do as good as I thought. You can tell they were just waiting to finish. They knew the crowd wanted Evanescence!

Oh my Goth, I almost cried when Evanescence started playing but at the same time I was really happy. Knowing that I was waiting for so long but could have missed the concert just because of the police was overwhelming. Evanescence performed flawless. They are so good live! I didn�t believe Amy Lee when she said that she never came to Canada sooner because she couldn�t afford it. She went to Europe! But hey, at least I got to see her. They played a new song, but I didn�t catch the title, it will be on their next CD hopefully. That song sounded really good. When they sang �my immortal� the crowd was so quiet, like they had to listen to every word she sang. Live, that song is truly beautiful.

I am so glad that everything turned out good in the end. This day didn�t turn out the way I expected. Though how can you plan out every minute of your life? Anything unexpected can happen at any time. Since the car got all fixed up, it was so simple to start speeding, it wasn�t wobbling anymore.

After the concert mum was so happy to see us again. I bought two shirts, one for me and one for her, and she loves it. Then she made a comment about everyone wearing black that was coming out of the concert. Then I just replied with how good the day ended up.

I loved every minute of the concert. I want to turn back time so I can just revisit the feeling of seeing my most favourite band live. I had the greatest time of my life. The whole two months was worth waiting for.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008