This Is the Diary of A Girl

Canada Games! Regina Rocks, oh my Goth it rocks

Monday, Aug. 15, 2005 @ 01:44

This trip has been amazing. No words can describe it but I will try my best.
Wednesday, the 3rd: On our way to Toronto, we were only delayed by 15 minutes. Not back considering there was a huge hold-up the day before because of the crash. We went up to the top floor and there was a line like kilometers long; people trying to get onto flights, people sleeping on sponge mats, millions of people.
I finally met up with the Ontario Team and stayed at the University of Toronto for a couple of days. We swam a lot, twice a day for two hours each. In the mornings we went to an outdoor long-course pool. That was cool but the first day I forgot to put on sun screen, but I only tanned a bit on my back. I had one room mate there and she�s really cool. Her name is Jessica, and she is a very fast swimmer.
On Thursday, 4th we had a team dinner at the spaghetti factory in Toronto. We took the subway and it was really disgusting. There was a mixture of mud, rust, blood, water, and god knows what else under the tracks. Also, the little tokens were so not worth $2.00 each. Anyway, the food at the restaurant was good. It was a rule that we couldn�t go over $20.00 because Team Ontario Board was paying for our dinner. On our way back on the subway, one of the girls started her period and blood was everywhere. None of us could hold back our laughter.
On Friday, the 5th we as the Ontario team squeezed ourselves along with our luggage on a small school bus. Then we met up with other sports to fly to Regina. The Nova Scotia aquatics team was also with us somehow. I couldn�t wait to leave that godforsaken city. The air was choking me. I was also desperately hungry on the plane that I spent $2.00 on a little can of Pringles.
We arrived in Regina and rode a school bus to the University. There is a 24-hour open cafeteria for us athletes. The food is great. It is cool how they have bananas in an inflatable boat and apples are in a little swimming pool.
In the residence we have three to a bedroom and four bedrooms in a suite. There are eight other swimmers with me and three soccer players, all from Ontario. This time I wasn�t sharing a room with Jessica. Luckily our residence is totally separate from the males.
Saturday :< BR>Opening ceremony.
So cool! Just, amazing! I had so much fun! We had fun trading pins. I collected (in order): New Brunswick, North West Territories, Manitoba, Quebec, Nunavut, Alberta, Saskatchewan, British Columbia, Newfoundland, PEI, and Nova Scotia.
The opening ceremonies were at Taylor field. I am so happy that my mother and other people I know were watching the opening ceremony live on TV. I could feel their support and I was ready to kick ass. The medals were awesome and the guy named Jesse was the one who created the design for them, so they featured him on the stage. There were also really weird performances and long speeches. We Ontarians had a lot of fun though. The guy in front of me broke his chair and he landed flat on the ground. I nearly pissed my shorts laughing. My coach couldn�t stop taking pictures of me because I was wearing the nice colourful Ontario team outfit.
The best part was the lighting of the torch of course. /After it was carried there were lots of fire works.
I don�t know if this is really true, or if it�s just hard to believe, but they were saying at the ceremony that one-third of the athletes at Canada Games makes it to the Olympics. Yeah. I don�t know what to say about that.
Every friggen night at the residence, these room mates I was with played cards till really late, while I kept track of events, writing them down on my laptop. There is an Internet caf� here but I don�t bother to use it. I am too busy running around.
Sunday:
I ran out of lotion. It was a nice smelling one. Ah well. I almost ran out of lip gloss and sunscreen.
Some of the sports began today and I got a chance to watch women�s basketball. Ontario defeated Newfoundland. I don�t remember the score.
I couldn�t wait to swim. Racing is what I wanted to get over with. Unfortunately I haven�t been practicing the way I wanted to swim, but I did well. I got best times for everything. To add to that excitement, I got a bronze medal in 100-meter freestyle and gold for 100-meter butterfly of course. I also made an A carding time for that event, which is the highest carding.
Before and after every race, the Ontario guys would give me a hug. It was crazy. I was being called �super star� and �speedy.�
Since I am doing so well, I have decided to remain training with the team I am with now, but it will be a different coach who really wants to help me.
After the swimming was done, we were allowed to stay up later to attend a very boring dance. We just stood around talking, while the soccer players we were with in the residence were hitting on guys and dirty dancing.
On Saturday, the final day for the swimmers, I watched the gold medal basketball game between Ontario and Alberta. Ontario won, barely.
A lot of us athletes and coaches that day were trading our team clothing. I really wanted a New Brunswick jacket, but none of them would give it up, but this New Brunswick guy finally came up to me and asked for my Ontario hoody, and he gave me his zip-up team shirt and hat. All the eastern provinces were sponsored by roots, so they had really nice clothing.
Flying back to Toronto that night was a neat experience. It was like we were flying into darkness since the sun was going the other way. I called my mother to let her know I was coming in the next day and I could hear my cats meowing in the background.
Finally this morning I got home and I am still very jet lagged.
Jenna
*Song: Right Said Fred � Stand up. This is the song they played after finals every night in Canada games.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008