This Is the Diary of A Girl

I think I am over Thinking.

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2007 @ 18:17

During the last week, in between studying for exams, I�ve been looking into a life-changing experience. Studying abroad. Sounds cool doesn�t it?

I want to study at a university in Baden-Wurttemberg, to which Ontario universities have an agreement with. The thing is, only 50 students in Ontario get to go; not just Ottawa U, but Western, Queens, Waterloo, and all the other universities in Ontario. I am going to wait until next year to apply because I don�t believe many students in their first year get a chance. This opportunity would be amazing but mostly engineer students go to Germany because that�s what Germany is known for. If I don�t get accepted, or maybe after my exchange, I am going to transfer to UBC. All this is up in the air of course.

I can�t continue like this. Of course you can all make your judgments about me wanting to go to Germany for October Fest, but I want to study there to experience their outlook and views on international politics and see what other kinds of courses I can take. Philosophy is a subject they take very seriously there, but taking it in German might confuse me. The application process as you could imagine is quite rigorous. In order to apply, I have to write a whole essay on why they should choose me, attend a session on International exchange students, and pay a non-refundable $50, even if you don't get selected. Also include a resume, letter of good-standing from a professor, fill out the application, and select the courses and universities of interest.

My Mom is definitely ok with this. I wasn�t sure how she�d react. This goal I have set for myself encourages me to work my ass off.

Europe, here I come!

Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008