This Is the Diary of A Girl

Athletes in University

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2007 @ 22:26

So one of my classes is being taught in Pembrooke which is very far from Ottawa. Why they have a campus out there I don�t know, so I signed up for another politics course. My course load is significantly less so I can chase bands, lovers, and jobs around. Not particularly in that order, but my point is made that I need to live life too.

I didn�t hear from B, who dropped out of university and moved to Kingston. She supposedly made a trip to Ottawa. I guess she called me but didn�t leave a message. While I was working out I had a couple of missed calls but the number was not displayed. Don�t leave a message, don�t expect a call back.

Anyways, instead of trying to fit an hour for working out sometime during the week, I work out for at least 30 minutes a day. I find that works better since I end up exercising for about 4 hours a week. It�s definitely starting to show.

My mother is trying to get me to start swimming in January. I don�t think I can go through that again. I think my swimming career is done. It was good while it lasted. I completely admire those athletes who go to university based on a scholarship. These athletes have to balance a busy work and athletics schedule. I know I wouldn�t be able to do that. Athletes desire to be more than just an athlete and those who criticize them for trying to obtain higher education should try balancing unrelated university work for at least 10 hours a week on top of their schedules.

Well that was an unexpected rant. This girl I went to high school with (also the same university) always hated athletes for winning scholarships. She thought she knew everything.

I am off to watch survivor now.

Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008