This Is the Diary of A Girl

Apple Picking Day

Saturday, Sept. 29, 2007 @ 17:47

I am exhausted. I�ll probably fall asleep as soon as I am done with this. I slept well last night until Yum-yum decided to growl and hiss at Little. She�s still being very territorial.

Mom woke up shortly after 8. She made coffee and we headed over to Single Mom of Five�s to pick up a few people to go apple picking. We joined up with a whole group of people. There were two full buses for all of us. Once we got to the orchard about an hour away from Ottawa, lunch was prepared for us. I had only a little bit to eat because yellow jackets were flying all around us and it made me very nervous. No one got stung as far as I know.

When we were done eating, we hopped on a wagon and a tractor pulled us out into the field. I haven�t been on one of those for years. It was fun. I was sitting on the edge with my feet hanging over.

We were all in our little subgroups. It was me, the younger son�s GF and her baby, and my mom. There were all kinds of apples. Apparently all 20 kinds. Oddly enough we never encountered any bee hives, hornet�s nests, or horseflies during the whole picking session. I never got bitten once and I was expecting it to be brutal.

Since we were part of a group, each household got one big bag for free and anything else we wanted we had to pay for. Mom and I decided to get another bag. They were only $15 but imagine paying for a group of 70.

When our bags were almost half, we discovered a latter in the trees and started using it to get at high apples. Bigger ones seem to grow higher up but about one in five had bird beak marks in them. Some of the very low ones had huge holes where worms dug through.

When we were done picking, the organizers had some games planned. There was a ticket draw and my number got drawn. I won a piggy bank which I can personally paint. Once I opened the box, people immediately started giving me change. I never felt so lucky.

There was a store there that of course had to do with everything about apples. I bought a jar of Dutch Chocolate dip for apples. The Younger Son�s GF got apple cutting tools and cyder. They even had apple chips which I didn�t find very tasty.

I hardly remember the bus ride home because I kept dozing off. The kids at times were yelling and crying. We dropped off our friends, and then mom decided to go work at the cottage. I doubt she�s going to, but she knows she has a lot to do.

Jenna

*Song: State of Shock � Money Honey.

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008