This Is the Diary of A Girl

Savoring Every Moment

Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004 @ 16:26

Okay that�s weird, my laptop screen just got better on it�s own. I should extend my warranty on it just in case. So this should be good, not as short like the last few entries.

After months of gripping the tickets and keeping them as close as possible, the time finally came. The concert last night was extremely amazing; Breaking Benjamin, Seether, Three Days Grace, and Evanescence all performed. What confused me though is that the cameramen left an hour before the concert ended. Ah well. The Ottawa Sun rated the concert 2.5 out of 5, but I give it 3.5. They were picky about everything. The concert was merely for my age group anyway.

This show was so much better than the one in Montreal. I also had a clear mind this time. So much shit happened last time that I just tried to make the best of it. It wasn�t all smoky thanks to the smoking bylaw here. Two ladies beside me got free tickets from their friend. Lucky for them. The tickets were also cheaper and we were closer with a better view as well. It was all-good.

The first act was Breaking Benjamin. The spokesperson yelled, �Now let�s welcome Breaking fucking Benjamin!!!� I found that to be unexpected. Their music got me right in the mood for the concert, which was four hours long by the way. They made a great opening, and sound excellent live. The lead singer sounded like Chad Kroeger from Nickelback, I could easily get confused between the two. Live, that is. The lead singer had awesome tune to his voice and all his songs were done well, especially Polyammorous and So Cold. I could feel the music. The lighting made me dizzy. All different colours and there were even black ones.

The second act, Seether. They did better in Montreal but still have their thing. I think they toured with Evanescence too long. Well, the lead singer Shaun Morgan is Amy Lee�s boyfriend. Seether�s songs Fine Again and Driven Under were the best played. And oh yeah, the duet Broken featuring Amy Lee. That song tends to get quite annoying quickly. We heard it on the radio on the way up and my mother said she�s glad she�s not going to the concert. She only drove us there and picked us up with the car she is renting for two weeks. Anyway, Seether just couldn�t keep my interest and I began to get dreamy. Just before they finished, the lead guitarist went crazy. He swung the guitar around wildly and practically smashed it. Ca-ray-zy, but it was a rock show, right?

Not everything ran perfectly but there weren�t any major flaws. My cousin freaked out each time there was a little error. He began wining, �I used to be part of a backstage crew. They don�t know what they are doing. What am I doing up here, when I could be there?� Then I just snapped back he should get a job. He claims he�s searching. Yeah, I thought, searching by sitting on your ass all-day and drinking in the park. I couldn�t say that out loud to him though. What really annoyed me the most about him is that he had to point out something about everyone. He made a comment about the four young girls behind us, which I would rather forget, the four girls in front of us, and about this girl who wore a trench coat and shaved her head. I tried my best to ignore him. Continuing on...

The third act was Three Days Grace and they were fucking awesome! Just before the last or second last songs, each of the bands would make the crowd stand and cheer for each of the other bands. That was cool. On the way up, Three Days Grace was live on the radio. They sang an acoustic version of Just Like You. Their music is depressing in the most beautiful way. I admire artists who write their own music. I never realized how dark their music was. I honestly thought they were punky like Blink 182 or Box Car Racer, whatever they are called. Anyhow, at the concert, I especially liked the song Just Like You live, it made my body shake and my mind melt. I was entranced, but that feeling would prove to be nothing compared to what was coming up next.

Evanescence!!! Amy Lee was beautiful. She wore all white. The spotlight on her was also white which made her stand out with the coloured lights on the outside. She has the best voice live. It�s very strong and beautiful. Instantly I opened my mind and I was completely enthralled with the music. I would savor every moment of that feeling. She also played the piano and sang My Immortal and I cried a little bit.

The line-up of the songs was similar to the performance in Montreal. I was so taken with her singing that two hours didn�t feel like enough. I wanted her to sing forever. I couldn�t just sit there. I continually got up, jumped around and cheered with no care. She was impressed with the crowd. I was surprised to hear her say �eh?� And she�s from Arkansas? She tried to end the show, but the crowd cheered wildly for more. She yelled, �So you guys want more eh?� So she sang two more songs, one by the Smashing Pumpkins called Zero and then she ended with Whisper.

My mother was waiting for us for about an hour. While she was waiting, a girl coming out of the Corral Center said to another girl wearing a mini skirt, �You look like a fucking prostitute!� Does that mean every girl who wears a mini skirt is a prostitute? I disagree. I mean, I have one and I�m no prostitute. Some people these days. Well anyway my mother wanted me to get another Evanescence tea-shirt. So I did. Now I have three all different Evanescence shirts. I told my mother on the way back that I was going to write a good review, the concert was that wonderful. I enjoyed every minute of it. One thing is certain, that is sure not going to be my last Evanescence concert.

Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008