This Is the Diary of A Girl

Love is Meaningless

Monday, Feb. 20, 2006 @ 16:33

I hope all this weird weather goes away. February 17 it was thunder and lightning! That�s gotta be the earliest time of the year that happened.
Let me track back a little bit. I know it�s kind of late for posting this but Valentines day... My mother sent me some chocolate hearts and I picked up some cinnamon hearts because I love cinnamon hearts. I think that Valentines day is a useless celebration these days. Not just because I�m single or anything, but it really is pointless. I think it really lost its meaning a long time ago. Does the thought still count anymore? I don�t think so. When I was a little kid, we made cards for someone special on Valentine�s day, and we were always told �It�s the thought that counts.� It was the fact that you thought enough of someone to make them a gift or tell them how much they meant to you. Then, I thought, "Aww? What a cool day! It's a day to make people feel good for no other reason than because you feel like it."
Now I'm older, and I see these commercials telling people to buy diamonds because that's the only thing you can do to show them you love them. And I see couples where one member, usually the girl (I'm ashamed to say), gets mad if their significant other because they think they got something cheap. Shouldn't they be happy they got something at all? I can see feeling hurt if you get them something and get no acknowledgement of it, or your boyfriend/girlfriend never makes you feel special, especially on that day. But I don't know why people have grown to expect expensive gifts as some kind of proof of love. It's kind of like the way Christmas has gotten. It's not about the sentiment anymore, it's about how much you can spend to impress your friends. Can't anybody find more meaningful ways to impress people? These kind of attitudes make me not appreciate these so called, special days.
Love has become so meaningless, and it makes me happy to say I�m not dating anyone. Sadly, most people look up to celeberties in our society, who get married three times a year, and have sex with everyone on the red carpet. These people, in a way, run our society and it makes me sick.
Jenna
*Song: Linkin Park � With You

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008