This Is the Diary of A Girl

Weekend in Toronto (Jan 18th)

Sunday, Feb. 10, 2008 @ 11:34

I took the train to Toronto with a friend but she was going to transfer to a bus for Kitchener. We just talked about upcoming plans etc and how we were going to meet up for the train ride back.

Then I met up with Miedema2002 who was in the middle of cleaning, whoops. We got ready for the concert and quickly grabbed a bite to eat.
The concert was a blast. The only thing is I hate getting other people�s sweat on me, plus they smell like transients. This guy I�ve been talking to on the Internet was at the concert but he hung out at the bar. We met through GMand I was hoping to meet him. He actually went to the Manson concert as well. Maybe next time I go to Toronto. In the moshpit, people were smoking weed next to me. I regretted stepping out of the line for a bracelet when I didn�t even buy a drink there.

Econoline Crush opened the show. They didn�t do very many songs but they sang their newest single Dirty which was great to hear live.

I loved seether live. I knew I would and they definitely got better since they�ve opened for Evanescence a few years ago. I went the craziest when they played Fake it and No Jesus Christ which was their opening song. Shawn�s voice just makes me cream. Anyway, I am surprised that he sang Broken, considering that song must bring back a lot of awful memories. Other songs they played include: gasoline, Remedy, and Truth.

The croud was quite young as expected but a lot more females and families than I was expecting. I caught someone�s glasses before they hit the floor. Lucky for that person they didn�t get crushed. They weren�t very thankful, all I got was �Good catch.�

I was jumping around like a bunny rabit during Three Days Grace, especially during Riot. They played almost all of their songs. I think they definitely need new material. I was hoping for a song they haven�t released yet but instead they did a couple of covers.

It doesn�t appear as though any people were sent to review the concert. Not even Chart Attack who are known for in depth music coverage. CA is the Canadian equivalent to Rolling Stone.

Miedema2002 and I managed to find each other after the chaos. While waiting for the croud to clear I was talking to a couple of guys who were major concert-goers. I shyly admitted to seeing Evanescence live many times and to my surprise they love going to her shows as well.

On Saturday I was going to meet up with gay boy but he didn�t keep his phone on. He tried to get a hold of me apparently, but didn�t try hard enough. I was going to take him out to dinner for his birthday. It�s his loss. We weren�t going to let that stop us from having a good time.

We went to a caroke bar and ate. The bar tender was completely flirting with me and gave us free shots. He wanted me to sing but I had no idea what song I would destroy. I mean not destroy, ahem.

Then we cabbed to a goth club on Queen St. and danced till 5 in the morning! Cool videos were shown and the DJ was just, awesome. Red Hot Chili peppers, VNV Nation, Madonna, Assemblage 23, and wolfsheim were blared. When they played Madonna I was like �Waaaaaah� and hardly moved. Then I realized that they played her because Madonna is famous for her BDSM videos. The club was very dark and people really didn�t mingle with those they didn�t know. One lady came up to me and asked if I was having a good time. We could hardly hear each other.

During a washroom break, I had an interesting conversation with this girl about different bands we�ve seen live. We had slightly different tastes so we didn�t talk long.

When Miedema2002 and I were leaving, we found out that the club is moving. We went to one of their last nights there apparently. Then I looked at the website and discover that they are NOT moving afterall. They got caught selling alcohol to minors but have it cleared up now.

I had a shot of Baileys and five coolers, enough to get someone intoxicated but I took it slow and was only a tad buzzed. That was a great night considering I wasn�t waisted at all. All the times before that, I hardly remember my nights at Goth clubs.

I am glad the club is staying where it is. The layout is a little odd, but they are going to do some renovations to make it better. I would love to go back sometime.

Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008