This Is the Diary of A Girl

Weekend in Toronto

Monday, Mar. 05, 2007 @ 22:50

The ticket clerk wasn�t working on Saturday although the schedule said they were supposed to, so I had to buy a ticket from the bus driver at an adult cost which was $25.65. Not fair, especially since student fair is half that. And yes I would like cheese with that wine. On the bus ride up my iPod battery died so I tried my hardest to fall asleep but couldn�t. We spend like half an hour at the Hamilton station and we also had to stop at McMaster University. There�s no such thing as an express to Toronto from Brantford because Brantford is no bigger than Hamilton. The QEW was nice and clear for a Saturday afternoon. I grabbed a taxi to Emily�s residence. We chatted for a little while and planned out what we were going to do. We took the TTC to Moxie�s which was supposed to only take an hour ended up being two hours because of construction. Guess they had to do it on the weekend. Service at the Mox was slow. Drinks took 15 minutes! I had the Madres Penne pasta and Emily had seafood pasta. My dish was spicy and it had apples on it. A little weird but nice tasting. Traveling a lot when I was swimming taught me to try different dishes when eating out. We split a cheese cake which was very sweet. We took a cab back to the residence so we could have enough time to change and look our best. I took out my braids and my hair was very frilly. I removed my nail polish because it was chipping and peeling. We took a cab to the Savage Garden since we didn�t exactly know where it was. Although we could have taken the TTC since things didn�t liven up until a little after 11. I was debating checking out the Fun House first. There was probably a cover charge for that place anyways. DJ pale played dark wave bands like Wolfsheim, Manson, Rammstein, and other stuff I didn�t even know. The crowd at the Savage was very diverse. There was mostly Goths but some others were just in tea-shirts and jeans. Everyone had their little cliques. Goth guys are hot. They looked more Goth than me. I had four revs and talked to this guy from the United States thinking of moving to Canada and briefly to this guy from Mississauga. This whole time Emily left me and was dancing, but not that many people were dancing. I liked the place since it was different from Brantford�s bars where old drunk guys hit on me. It was a nice change from the regular and yes I would go back someday if I could. I kept comparing it to the club in Montreal though where there is a dress code to get in, usually a cover charge, better music, and more of a mingling crowd. Emily and I will hopefully get to check out more nightclubs such as The Vatican, Sanctuary, Velvet Underground and Reverb.
Sunday morning we felt fine. We talked about the club, her friend called her, and Thomas called me. I took a cab to the terminal and luckily I was able to get a ticket at student fair rate which was $12. What a difference.
Once I got home, I fed my boys, called Emily, made grilled cheese sandwiches, showered, watched a bit of TV, and talked to my mother. Once she gets paid, she is going to sell some art at the Toronto Art museum, and take me shopping there. Maybe at some cool places on Queen Street.
I haven�t heard from my LL since Saturday so I am taking off to the theater tomorrow before he sees if I�m home. I know that�s mean but he gets annoying.
Jenna

Miss these?


Letting It Go - Sunday, Mar. 09, 2008
Moment of Disbelief - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008
What the... - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2008
No More Cavities - Friday, Feb. 29, 2008
Ridiculousness - Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008